The Tennessee Licensed Professional Counselors Association (TLPCA) is a not-for-profit, professional and educational organization dedicated to the growth and enhancement of mental health counselors in Tennessee.TLPCA represents Licensed Professional Counselors (LPCs), regardless of where they may serve—private practice, hospitals, universities, mental health centers, etc. TLPCA also welcomes as affiliates those who educate and supervise LPCs, as well as students who are working towards becoming an LPC.Together, TLPCA members strive to improve the quality of healthcare services that professional counselors deliver and promote LPCs as highly qualified clinical mental health providers.Our vision is to be the state organization representing licensed professional mental health counselors with consistent standards of education, training, licensing practice, advocacy and ethics.We invite you to peruse our site. If you have any questions, please contact us at [email protected]

tlcpa about us image 600x592


The Tennessee Licensed Professional Counselors Association (TLPCA) was founded in March 2007 by Licensed Professional Counselors from across the State who wanted an organization that would meet their professional needs and help LPCs better meet the needs of their clients. TLPCA represents Licensed Professional Counselors, regardless of where they serve—private practice, hospitals, universities, mental health centers, etc., graduate students actively pursuing licensure and affiliates who educate and supervise LPCs.


Our mission is to enhance the profession of mental health counseling in Tennessee and its regions, through licensing, advocacy, education and professional development.

Current Membership: 400+ and growing daily!

Current Efforts

•Creating and implementing relevant, cost-effective continuing educational
opportunities for LPCs throughout Tennessee

•Providing feedback to our licensure board to ensure that our LPC rules and
regulations best position LPCs in Tennessee for portability of licensure to
other States

•Creating and implementing an updated website for TLPCA members to
network  and communicate

•Planning and implementing our tenth annual TLPCA state-wide conference,
scheduled for April 13-14, 2018 in Murfreesboro, TN at the Embassy Suites.


Clay Harris, President

[email protected]


Robert Moore, Past President

[email protected]

Ellen Blaylock, Secretary

[email protected]


Michael Pilcher, Treasurer

[email protected]


Zachary Alexander, President-Elect

[email protected]


2018 2-Day Spring Work Session

Past Officers

Former Board Presidents

Robert Moore, President, 2017-2018

John Kennedy, President, 2015-2016

Marisa White, President, 2014-2017

Rebecca Stein, President 2013-2016

Marcy Webb, President 2012-2015

Dan Edwards, President 2011-2014

Deb Wilson, President 2010-2013

Kim Speakman, President 2009-2012

Carol L. Harp, President 2008-2011

Kay Arnold, President 2007-2010

Cindy Sneed, President 2006-2009

Former Board Secretaries

Clay Harris, 2016-2017

Trina Winters, 2014-2016

Marisa White, 2012-2014

Marcy Webb, 2010-2012

Trish Sanders, Secretary 2006-2010

Former Board Treasurers

Anna Edgeston, 2015-2017

Deb Wilson, 2013-2015

Heather Hendrickson, 2011-2013

John Thomas,  2009-2011

Kim Speakman, 2006-2009

Committee Chairs

Alexine Batts, Chair


Professional Development
 Alvin Bonds, Chair


Position Available
Contact Us

Marisa White, Chair
 [email protected]


Robin Lee, Chair


Media/Public Relations
Position Available
Contact Us

Position Available
Contact Us


Public Policy & Licensure Committee/SCLA to AMHCA
Position Available
Contact Us

Clay Harris, Co-Chair
[email protected]

Founding Members

Kay Arnold, LPC/MHSP

M. Elaine Baldwin, EdD, LPC/MHSP

Saroj Chand, LPC/MHSP

Carol H. Gipson, PhD, LPC/MHSP

Tom Gutridge, LPC/MHSP

Susan Hammonds-White, EdD, LPC/MHSP

Daniel S. Hayle, LPC/MHSP

Nancy Johnson, LPC/MHSP

Robin Lee, PhD, LPC/MHSP

Suzanne Manniss, PhD

Trish Sanders, LPC/MHSP

Cindy Sneed, NCC, LPC/MHSP

Kimberly D. Speakman, LPC/MHSP

John R. Thomas, LPC

Nancy Truett, LPC/MHSP

Suzanne S. Wilson, LPC/MHSP, CTA

Regional Representatives

State-Wide Coordinator, Alvin Bonds [email protected]

Chair for Regional Rep, Liane De Souza  [email protected]

Student Representative, Position Available, Contact Us

East Tennessee

Knoxville Area:
Nancy Truett, [email protected]
Anthony Fuller, [email protected]

Chattanooga Area:
Yohunna Woods-Moton, [email protected]
Lauren Stevens, [email protected]
Crystal Crumley, [email protected]


Upper East Tennessee Area:
Leah Smith, [email protected]

Middle Tennessee

Middle Tennesse/Nashville Area:
Connie Taylor, [email protected]
Tara Lamb, [email protected]
Leah Lennox, [email protected]

Clarksville Area:
Position Available, Contact Us

Columbia/Lewisburg/Lawrenceburg Area:
James “Todd” Fehrman, [email protected]
Andrea Troope, [email protected]

Cookeville Area:
Derrick Edwards, [email protected] 

Position Available, Contact Us

Murfreesboro Area:
Martha Jones, [email protected]

Position Available, Contact Us

West Tennessee

Jackson Area:
Linda Laney, [email protected]

Memphis Area:
Laura White, [email protected]