Select Page



TLPCA was pleased to honor several professionals at the 2023 Virtual Counseling and Therapy Summit. Please join the TLPCA leadership in congratulating these deserving individuals.

2023 TLPCA Awards

Susan B. Hammonds-White Award Recipient

Janie Wilkerson

Lifetime Achievement Award

David Cook

Counselor Educator of the Year

Dr. Mickey White

TLPCA Community Service Award Recipient

Rachel Freeman

Presidential Award for Social Justice in Counseling

Ashley Hampton

Legislator of the Year

Representative Bob Freeman

Legislator of the Year

Representative Gloria Johnson

Legislator of the Year

Representative Justin Jones

Legislator of the Year

Representative Justin Pearson

Each year, TLPCA awards:

The Susan B. Hammonds-White Award

The original board members created a leadership award in Susan Hammond-White’s name to demonstrate our appreciation for her pioneer efforts on behalf of mental health counselors in our state. Susan had never received public acknowledgement for her tireless work on legitimizing our profession in Tennessee. This award was established as an annual award at our 2nd year conference.

Susan B. Hammonds-White Award Recipients

2023 – Janie Wilkerson
2022 – Yohunnah Woods-Moton
2021 – Mark Loftis
2020 – Anthony Fuller
2019 – Clay Harris
2018 – Marcy Webb
2017 – Marisa White
2016 – Rob Moore
2015 – Shawn Spurgeon
2014 – Monica Schmidt
2013 – Lorraine Jefferson
2012 – Kim Speakman
2011 – Robin Lee
2010 – Kay Arnold
2009 – Nancy Truett
2008 – Cindy Sneed

The Community Service Award

The community service award was created to honor a member of the community that has helped to promote LPC’s in Tennessee.

TLPCA Community Service Award Recipients

2023 – Rachel Freeman
2022 – Rikki Harris
2021 – Ann White
2020 – Dr. Susan Lahey
2019 – Ann White
2018 – Jenny Ford
2017 – Rebecka Warren
2016 – Dianne Bradley and Robbie Hutchens
2015 – Steve Sheehan
2014 – Terry Casey
2013 – Webster Bailey
2011 – Peter Wilson
2010 – Kittie Myatt
2009 – Dan Edwards

Counselor Educator of the Year

2023 – Dr. Mickey White
2022 – Dr. Nathan West
2021 – Kim Coggins

Lifetime Achievement Award

2023 – David Cook
2022 – Kay Arnold
2021 – Ann White

Honorary Members

2022 – Jenny Ford, Representative Sam Whitson

Presidential Award for Social Justice in Counseling

2023 – Ashley Hampton

Legislator Recognitions

Representative Bob Freeman
Representative Gloria Johnson
Representative Justin Jones
Representative Justin Pearson

Lt. Governor Randy McNally
Representative Bob Ramsey

Senator Shane Reeves
Representative Clark Boyd

Representative Mike Stewart
Senator Jeff Yarbro

Senator Darren Jernigan
Senator Katrina Robinson

Representative Sam  Whitson
Representative Richard Briggs

Mental Health America

TLPCA was honored at the 2012 21st Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony of Mental Health America as the Collaborative Agency of the Year for our collaboration with MHA in educational trainings and partnering with them to provide our office support.